Anniversary & Babies

9 Aug

Ughhh, I am so far behind! Let me just say the heat of the summer is definitely making this pregnancy a little more challenging, and when Reece naps, I try to nap. Plus, some girls at church told me that facebook is the cool new thing, so I’ve been doing that in the place of blogging. So, this blog is an attempt to catch up a little.

Anniversary

My friend, Robin, just posted a blog about her anniversary, and I was reminded that two weeks have gone by and I haven’t even mentioned mine and Scott’s 6 year anniversary. I really did have big plans for a blog that spoke about my wonderful husband and how I married my best friend and how I love him more now than I ever could have even imagined 6 years ago. As I’m typing this, I’m laughing to myself because early in our marriage we’d go on a trip for our anniversary, get each other thoughtful gifts, and never leave out a card. This year? Well, we did go on a dinner date, but we kinda forgot the cards and didn’t do gifts. It’s ironic what love will do to you! 🙂

I also wanted to scan a wedding picture of us to remind everyone of how hot we were 6 years ago, but that fell by the wayside too. I did some digging into our digital photos though, and here are a few from anniversaries in the past:

Cabo San Lucus 2005

Las Vegas 2006 (pregnant with Reece!)

2007 (dropping Reece off with friends so we could grab a bite)

And here’s a picture of us now, with a bump to possibly explain the lack of excitement surrounding our big day:

2008 (on our way to dinner)

I love you, Scott!

Babies

Reece is SUCH a great little mommy (well, except for when she throws a fit and simultaneously throws her baby doll). About two months ago, Reece pulled her baby doll from the bottom of her toy box and started being a mommy to her. Reece says “baby,” signs “baby,” and does everything with baby!!! My cup towels can be found all over the house, as Reece sees them as baby blankets. I promise you the girl can wrap a swaddle ten times better than the nurses in the hospital nursery! I’ve been taking pictures of her new hobby:

bathing baby

feeding baby

Sometimes the only way I can pull Reece away from playing to eat is to tell her it’s time for baby to eat…then she’s all for it.

sharing milk with baby

baby in bed (with plenty of toys, of course)

strolling with baby

Granny saw the need for a stroller during a recent visit.

changing baby’s diaper

Reece found a stash of newborn diapers I keep for my business, and she’s been practicing for when Rynn comes.

swinging baby

While Scott and I were working the nursery at church (and preoccupied with other kiddos), Reece decided just swinging her baby wasn’t enough and had to crawl in with her.

So in several ways, it’s all about baby at our house. Reece knows where Baby Rynn is located, and loves to blow on my belly (zurbert-style) when I ask if she wants to kiss Rynn. Sometimes Reece is sweet enough to rub lotion on my belly (or “Rynn”). My prayer for several months has been that Reece is prepared when Rynn comes.  I think The Lord is trying to tell me everything is going to be okay…

3 Responses to “Anniversary & Babies”

  1. Christa Greene August 11, 2008 at 8:47 am #

    Awwgh!! I love that Reece is mothering her baby doll…it amazes me that she just knows what to do with her baby. What a sweetie!

  2. Kaleesha August 11, 2008 at 8:48 am #

    I’m so happy about this post. (I was really missing it!) You and Scott look as happy and in love as ever (and as beautiful). What a blessing that Reece is in training for the arrival of Miss Rynn. Y’all are an absolutely adorable family. Your love for each other and for our Savior shines brightly for all to see. We love and miss you so very much!

  3. msholley August 14, 2008 at 12:30 am #

    I agree that facebook can be pretty time consuming/addicting, but I guess since I haven’t posted in a while either I can’t give you too hard of a time ;0)

    Reece is precious! She will be a great big sister, and a great help once Rynn is here.

Leave a comment